“When it Feels Too Late to Start”

Firstly, I hope everyone is staying safe in light of recent events. If you’re like me you’ve probably spent more time on social media than usual and I’m sure you’ve seen this one: 

 

Let me start by saying that I don’t 100% agree with this. Yes, if you have the time to do new things do it! But not at the expense of your mental health. Pls it’s a pandemic not a contest. 

It feels like social media has been saturated with everyone showcasing their talents. Suddenly everyone is a baker! Everyone is a make-up artist. Now everyone is a personal trainer. Maybe you’ve had an idea for a while but it feels like now isn’t the time because everyone seems to be doing it? I don’t know if it’s just me who has felt intimidated to show things I’ve been working on, in fear of getting lost in the crowd?  

Some encouragement if you feel like you’ve arrived to the party late: 

It’s Not a Race.

Something I learnt from the Netflix show: “Self Made: inspired by the life of madam CJ Walker” it’s not always about who did it first, it’s about who did it best. This helps me when I start comparing myself to others. Just because I am not the first baker does not mean I can’t be the best. This does not mean I compete with others, but it means I don’t take myself out of the running purely because I started late. Or because someone else had the same idea. Produce the best quality YOU can, and let that speak for itself.

 

No One Can Do It Like You.

God has made us all unique and individual. Embrace that! it doesn’t matter if 100 people have gone before you. No one is going to do it like you. The way you think is different. The way you approach things are different. The set of people you influence is going to be different. There is a target audience that is meant for you. Take the time to develop your point of view. It’s important, it matters and that’s what will make you different from everyone else.

 

Stop Comparing Yourself!

When you’re looking up to someone, don’t skip the journey that got them there. One thing I like to do, is scroll down to someone’s first few Instagram post (especially bakers), a lot of the time you’ll see they were just like you. You can’t compare your starting point to someone’s middle or even end! Have the confidence to start and learn on the way! Consistency is key!

With love, Temi xx